MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE JOINT MEETING OF EXECUTIVE, COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES, COMMUNITY VOICE AND PANELS HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, WALLFIELDS, HERTFORD ON WEDNESDAY 18 MAY 2011, AT 7.55 PM

PRESENT:

Councillor S Rutland-Barsby (Chairman) Councillors D Abbott, M Alexander, D Andrews, W Ashley, P Ballam, S Basra, E Bedford, R Beeching, E Buckmaster, S Bull, A Burlton, M Carver, Mrs R Cheswright, K Crofton, J Demonti, P Gray, L Haysey, T Herbert, Mrs D Hollebon, Mrs D Hone, A Jackson, G Jones, G Lawrence, J Mayes, G McAndrew, M McMullen, P Moore, W Mortimer, M Newman, T Page, P Phillips, M Pope, N Poulton, R Radford, J Ranger, C Rowley, P Ruffles, N Symonds, J Taylor, M Tindale, A Warman, G Williamson, N Wilson, J Wing, M Wood, C Woodward, B Wrangles and J Wyllie.

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Anne Freimanis - Chief Executive Simon Drinkwater - Director of

Neighbourhood

Services

Jeff Hughes - Head of

Democratic and Legal Support

Services

Martin Ibrahim - Senior Democratic

Services Officer

Alan Madin - Director of Internal

Services

Lois Prior - Head of Strategic

Direction (shared)

and

Communications

Manager

George A Robertson

- Director of
Customer and
Community
Services

14 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Councillor M Alexander and seconded by Councillor M Wood that Councillor S Rutland-Barsby be appointed Chairman for this meeting.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that Councillor S Rutland-Barsby be appointed Chairman for this meeting.

15 MINUTES

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the Minutes of the joint meeting of the Executive, committees, sub-committees, panels and Community Voice held on 12 May 2010, be agreed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

16 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN, SUB-COMMITTEES, PANELS, ETC

The Head of Democratic and Legal Support Services submitted a report seeking approval for the appointment of Chairmen to Committees set up by Council at its Annual meeting on 18 May 2011 and the establishment of subcommittees and panels.

It was noted that the appointment of Vice-Chairmen would be dealt with at the next meetings of the relevant committees.

The joint meeting noted the nominations of each political group to the seats on sub-committees and panels as detailed in the report now submitted and approved the recommendations as now detailed.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that (A) the following Sub-Committees and Panels be appointed, with the number of voting Members stated:

Licensing Sub-Committee	3
Director Recruitment Panel	5
Local Joint Panel (4 Members of the Council and 4 representatives of employees drawn from UNISON with substitutes)	8
Local Development Framework (LDF) Executive Panel	2
Health Engagement Panel	5

- (B) the allocation of seats on Sub-Committees to political groups be as detailed in Essential Reference Paper 'B' of the report now submitted;
- (C) as a consequence of the decisions at (A) (B) above, the membership of Sub-Committees and Panels be as set out in Essential Reference Paper 'D', with, where appropriate, Members being appointed in accordance with the wishes of the political groups to whom the seats on these bodies have been allocated;
- (D) the following Members be appointed as Chairmen of the bodies detailed:

	<u>Chairman</u>
Community Scrutiny	G McAndrew
Corporate Business Scrutiny	D Andrews
Environment Scrutiny	Mrs D Hollebon
Health Engagement Panel	Mrs D Hone

J Ranger
W Ashley
C Woodward
M McMullen
To be determined at first meeting
To be determined at first meeting
M Carver

(E) the Director of Internal Services be authorised to make changes in the standing membership of subcommittees and panels in (A) above, in accordance with the wishes of the political groups to whom seats on these bodies have been allocated.

The meeting closed at 7.58 pm

Chairman	
Date	